Moms Like Us Spotlight: Charlene

We will have a special recurring post called “Moms Like Us Spotlight” which will feature moms who are currently in college answering a series of questions. If you are a mom like us, please feel free to contact me if you would like to have your story published. Our aim is to inspire and encourage other moms just like us to face difficulties with resilience and to seek out the resources available to them!

Charlene     

 “Keep moving forward…”

Charlene with her children

Charlene with her children 

Age: 31

Number of Children: 3

Marital Status: Divorced

College: Brown Mackie College, San Antonio Texas

Dream Job/ Career Goals: My Dream Job is to be a Nurse Practitioner and work in Labor and Delivery.

Why did you decide to go to school?  As a newly single mother, I knew I needed a career. Dead end jobs wouldn’t be stable enough for my children.

What is your biggest fear in terms of college? My biggest fear is failing. I have not been in school for 12 years. I was scared I would fail my classes. Failing school for me would mean failing my kids and that’s something I just can’t do.

At your college are there a good amount of moms in your classes? Yes, there are so many mothers trying to better themselves. It’s motivating to know you are not alone in the struggle between, being a student learner and a mother teaching.

Do you associate with students who aren’t mothers? If so, how do you feel around them? Yes, I meet new people every month. I feel great around them. Everyone I have met has their own stories & struggles. You come to realize that this decision was not easy for a lot of people for different reasons. I believe because of this, we are all more willing to help each other out because there is no judgement.

“She always accepted me for who I was,

  faults and all, while making me feel like

  the world was my playground.”

What inspires/motivates you?  My Aunt Becky inspired me to have a career in the medical field. She herself was a nurse. She always accepted me for who I was, faults and all, while making me feel like the world was my playground. I could do anything I put my mind to & I would succeed every time.  My children motivate me. They keep me going in so many ways. Whenever I start to feel like I want to throw in the towel, it’s their little faces that pop in my mind and remind me that I need to keep going.

Tell me a little bit of your story:  I met my ex husband when I was just months away from turning 17 years old. We got married when I was 18 years old and had just graduated high school. I wanted to go head first into college, I couldn’t wait to be in the medical field. My husband was in the military and our dreams were different. I put my dreams on the side to be his wife and start our family. I always told myself, I’ll go next year. Life happens and time goes by so fast, next year never came. Going through a divorce and becoming a single parent caused me to reevaluate my life thus far. I knew it was going to be hard to raise three children, work and go to school but I decided it was well worth the try. It’s been hard but we are making it through a day at a time. I am holding a 4.0 GPA and with help from my family, my kids and I are adjusting to our new life. I am not working at this moment but with the kids going to school, I’m hoping to get in with the Baptist Health Systems and have a job while I continue to strive towards my goal.

Any advice for other mothers thinking about going/returning to college? The only advice I can give is to keep moving forward. I have a picture of my kids on my notebook and when I start to feel overwhelmed and wonder what I’m doing in school again, I look at that picture. Doing so helps me refocus and to keep moving forward.

Thank you Charlene for so willingly answering my questions — you are an inspiration!

If you would like more information on Brown Mackie College please visit their website at: http://www.brownmackie.edu/  they have over 20 locations to service students in a wide variety of subject areas.

Follow this blog to keep up with the next “Moms Like Us” student, Anita

8 thoughts on “Moms Like Us Spotlight: Charlene

  1. Rachel Rhea says:

    Inspiring! I am 28 and in school fill time with a 2.5 year old and a husband. No way could I have gotten as far as I have without the support of my family… Immediate and extended. My most recent heartbreaking moment was when I was studying for my finals and I my son kept asking to play ball with ME. Dada was an okay replacement but he wanted me and I felt horrible for telling him I would have to play with him tomorrow. He took it graciously (as much as a 2 year old can :p) and I got a 90 and 100 on my finals. He knows that when he goes to school, mama goes to school and I kind of love that even though it makes going to school much more difficult with learning how to manage my time between studying and family.

    • Dianna says:

      Thank you for sharing that!! It can be very difficult to balance our time and to do so without guilt. I am sure that we can’t be the only ones who feel sad/guilty to leave our babies! If you would like to be a future Moms Like Us please let me know! I see an e-mail listed but will confirm! Don’t forget to “follow” the blog for updates!! And best of luck in all of your studies!

Leave a Reply

